Voting and guttedness

I am so disappointed. I wanted to vote today. I arranged a postal vote and everything. And thanks to not being able to leave the house these last few days unless under supervision as I find it so stressful to go out, combined with having no concept of time at the moment, I didn’t go to get my voting form from our flat. So I couldn’t vote.

Damn this mental illness for inhibiting my one chance to have a say.

This election means so much to me too – if I find myself staring down the barrel of a Conservative gun once more, then I have to rely on my apathetic countrymen to vote to remain in the EU or overnight I will find myself an illegal immigrant with no access to benefits that are our lifeline.

What is wrong with Cameron anyway, why couldn’t he just make a bloody decision instead of holding referendum after referendum. As for why an in/out EU referendum well, we saw how well the Scottish independence referendum went and the massive fall out from that. Which I lived through too and found one of the most stressful things going.

I’m not a passionate person about any one political party. I come from a Lib Dem stronghold. In England I always voted Green because I didn’t like anyone else. I remember one election with my pencil hovering over Conservative because I couldn’t bear for Blair to get another term and if he did (which he did sadly), it wouldn’t have been  because of my vote. But I couldn’t bring myself to vote for Conservative either. In the Scottish referendum I was a firm No and think to this day how dangerous the SNP and nationalism in general is. And I think Alex Salmond is a twat (I would use the C word but that is too extreme even from Miss Sweary McGee as DH dubs me), who played people akin to what we saw in Germany in the 30s – but that’s neither here nor there. If I had the chance in this election I think I would have been a reluctant Lib Dem voter to keep out the SNP. But at a gamble with then letting the Conservatives back in.

UK politics has certainly become more interesting over the last five years. It amuses me to see the hoo ha over potential coalitions. Because most of Europe is governed by coalition parties so why the UK can’t be any different I don’t know.

Regardless of my personal opinion on political parties and others’ allegiances, I feel it so important to vote. People died for us to vote. Women in particular. I’m a historian at heart and by study, and I don’t want to see history repeating itself. Which if you don’t vote is how randoms get in. Like UKIP. (I don’t get how anyone could take them seriously but there you go that’s, democracy for you.)

I’m hoping today people turn out and vote. It doesn’t matter how crappy you think the politicians are. Look at the policies. Try and see beyond the bland samey faces that they all present. Please though, just get out and vote. It takes minutes. And this doesn’t matter where you live in the world by the way, or which way you vote, it’s applicable no matter where. On my behalf and all the others who found themselves too ill to have their say on the day, do it.

(ps – go Ed!)

Posted from WordPress for Android

One thought on “Voting and guttedness

  1. A lot of people do not realize the importance of voting, so I loved this post. There are some who believe “pfft, my vote won’t change anything,” but it actually can make the difference. If people realized this we might have better politics in place.

Leave a Reply

